Songs of Ireland

St. Patrick’s Day is just around the corner, so I’ve picked a few beautiful songs about Ireland, its people and its past.

“Song for Ireland” was written by Phil and June Colclough. This song is about someone that has traveled the country and has found beauty in every corner.

 

“Ireland’s Call” is the Rugby Anthem written by Phil Coulter in 1995 to unify Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland on the field. It has also been adopted as the anthem for the Hockey and Cricket leagues.

 

“My Land” by Alana and Brendan Graham is about the beauty of Ireland and how the people feel when they have to leave; even if they are only leaving for a short time.

 

Another great song I recently found is “This Land Is Your Land, This Land is My Land” the Ireland Version.

 

Each of these songs shows a great love of the nation from the composers and singers. They also show that whether at home or abroad the people love the country and remember how it has influenced their life.

 

1 Comment

  1. I like all these songs. Unfortunately, the computers here won’t let me listen to a lot of stuff – I need to upgrade something or other, and we cannot do that here. I’m in the process of looking for a computer I can afford, or if nothing comes up in a month or so, I’m going to Aaron’s to get a rent-to-own. Then I can listen to anything I want to, all day and all night long. Good blog, Alicia.

Leave a Reply

