Tender is the Voice

Three singers that remind me of each other are Richard Marx, Kenny Loggins and Neil Byrne. Whenever I hear a song from one of these men, I think of the others, but it’s not because they sound identical. They each have a sincere tenderness (the best word I could think of) that can be heard in whatever style of song they are singing. Each puts their heart and soul into their songs and their compassion can be heard in every song. Take a listen to each singer to see if you can find any other similarities.

Below are two examples of songs from each of these guys and a little bit of info about them. The songs show the deep emotions the men convey while maintaining a gentle quality that is uniquely theirs.
Richard Marx
DOB: September 16, 1963
Nationality: American
Richard is a singer and songwriter. He has performed with or had his music performed by some of the top names in the music industry, such as: David Foster, Lionel Ritchie, Madonna, Whitney Houston, Kenny Rogers, Luther Vandeross, Chicago, Three Doors Down and the list goes on. In 2008 Richard was part of a PBS special (“Songwriters In The Round Presents: Legends & Lyrics.”). He has performed benefit concerts for many organizations, like the TJ Martell Foundation, Toys For Tots, Make A Wish Foundation, the American Cancer Society, Best Buddies, the Special Olympics and for Cystic Fibrosis research.

Visit Richard’s official website for more information.

Kenny Loggins
DOB: January 7, 1948
Nationality: American
Kenny has performed with Jim Messina, USA for Africa (We Are the World), Michael McDonald, Blue Sky Riders, and can be found on the soundtracks of Caddyshack, Footloose, Top Gun, Caddyshack II, The Tigger Movie. Kenny Loggins has been active for more than 3 decades and has released around 20 albums, several of which have gone platinum and gold. He has successfully covered a wide range of genres including country, rock, pop, folk and soundtracks.

For more on Kenny visit his official website.

Neil Byrne
DOB: November 16 1978
Nationality: Irish
Neil has performed with: Phil Coulter, Celtic Thunder, and his own band, Hipple Street (until 2007, for videos). He has released one album “Sensitive Souls,” which contains 4 songs, and a second album under the name Pale Blue Jak called “Faces” He can also be found as a lead singer on several of Celtic Thunder’s albums (It’s Entertainment, Heritage, and Christmas).

For a lot more info on Neil visit his official website.

Of course they might not have anything in common and I really have no idea what I’m talking about.

2 Comments

  1. I recently saw a show on PBS called Legends and Lyrics which featured Kenny Loggins and Richard Marx, so I appreciate this article now. Good timing. I don’t know about Neil’s new CDs, I really like him, but I don’t know that much about his individual stuff, except the few I’ve heard from YouTube. But I look forward to getting a new DVD from CT with the changes that have been made, both in singers and band, and seeing what Neil is up to these days.

    • Sometimes I’m amazed at my timing. I didn’t know Neil had scheduled a video chat for this weekend, but it works out great for me.
      The show you saw was probably the same show I mentioned, I haven’t seen it yet my station plays the same boring shows all the time.

Leave a Reply

